June 2024  << >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Next events

190616 opfeszt eotvos gms 22 resizePéter Eötvös: The Golden DragonThe Golden Dragon – Opera in one act, in English – Première in Hungary




Péter Eötvös: The Golden Dragon 

190616 aranysarkany vj077 resizePéter Eötvös: The Golden DragonLibretto: Péter Eötvös, based on Roland Schimmelpfennig’s play with the same title

Soloists: Andrew Mackenzie-Wicks, Einat Aronstein, Andrea Meláth, Kornél Mikecz, Daniel Norman
Directed by: Bruno Berger-Gorski
Contributing: Israel Contemporary Players Artistic Director: Dan Yuhas
Conducted by: Zsolt Nagy

Der goldene Drache tells the tragic story of Chinese little boy who arrives at a town in Germany looking for his elder sister. He cannot find her and he ends up in an Asian eatery. He suffers from a terrible toothache but does not have social security so the four cooks try to help him. They pull out his tooth with pliers but they cannot stop his bleeding and he dies. His body is rolled up in a carpet and thrown into a nearby stream. Thus, in a surreal way, the boy in his death can return to his native China after countless vicissitudes.
The author, Roland Schimmelpfennig, was selected the playwright of the year for this play in 2010.

The World Première of Der goldene Drache (The Golden Dragon) was held in Frankfurt am Main on 29th June, 2014.

PÉTER EÖTVÖS is one of the best known contemporary opera composers. As a conductor, he is considered one of the finest interpreters of modern music. Music, hence opera constitutes for him a complex artistic experience, a ritual, and he wants to make the audience an initiated participant in the act.


Konstantia gourzi: Paharión

190616 opfeszt sztefraim koncert gms 14 resizePaharión – Saint Ephraim Male ChoirPerformed by:
Vassilis Agrokostas – psalm singer, lyra
Harris Lambrakis – ney
Miltiades Papastamou – violin
Slava Cernavca – clarinet/bass clarinet
Saint Ephraim Male Choir (artistic director: Tamás Bubnó)
Conducted by: Konstantia Gourzi

“Paharión, the Red Angel in the Garden of las Huelgas is the combination of sounds from the Eastern and Western liturgical traditions and 21st-century contemporary music played on traditional and modern instruments. The piece combines fifteen sound dialogues between different cultures: the Gregorian and Byzantine voices meet Western instruments like violin and clarinet as well as traditional ones from Eastern countries like the lyre and ney.” (Konstantia Gourzi)

picture gallery »




emmi logo 80px miskolc cimer fel 80px nka csak logo rgb 80px    

Copyright © 2016 Miskolc Opera Festival Nonprofit Ltd. All rights reserved!  | Legal notice »

↑ Top